Inaugural Premiership Rugby Shield Fixtures Confirmed

Monday, 9th July 2018 @ 12:00

Premiership Rugby have released Harlequins Premiership Rugby Shield fixtures for 2018/19

Quins’ ten rounds of the Premiership Rugby Shield (formerly A-League) fixtures have been confirmed for the new season. This year, the competition has a new format, with teams being divided into North and South Pools, playing each other home and away before the semi-final and final stages in May 2019. Premiership Rugby have also secured a deal with FreeSports to deliver exclusively Live Premiership Rugby Shield matches (one match per week) together with selected highlights from other matches. 

The London club will be competing in the South Pool and their fixture list includes tantalising encounters with major clubs such as Saracens, Exeter, Bath, Gloucester and newly-promoted Bristol.

The Premiership Rugby Shield gives supporters the chance to witness the new generation of talent integrated into top-level rugby at some of the league’s most iconic stadiums and is a tournament that the Club has taken very seriously over the years.

Commenting on this year’s tournament, Harlequins’ Academy and Global Development Director Tony Diprose said, ‘The Premiership Rugby Shield is a very useful tournament for both our younger players and for senior players in need of much-needed playing time as it gives them the chance to put their hands up for first team selection.’

''As a Club, we have always placed a great deal of importance on this competition as it helps develop our entire squad, and I am sure this year will be no different’. 

Harlequins begin their campaign in Round 1 with a home match against Gloucester United w/c 3rd September.

Next up, the men in quartered shirts face Bristol United, again at The Stoop w/c 10th September.

For their first away fixture of the tournament w/c 24th September, Quins head to The Rec to face Bath United, hoping for a repeat performance from their dramatic victory there last year.

In Round 4, Harlequins travel to Allianz Park to face Saracens Storm w/c 1st October, before heading down to Sandy Park w/c 17th December to play Exeter Braves.

The return fixtures for the tournament will run until the end of April, with the semi-final stages occurring w/c 6th May 2019.

The final will be played on Monday 13th June.

Dates and times for all rounds of the tournament will be fully confirmed in due course.

Click here to download the fixtures to your desktop or mobile device. Fixtures will be automatically updated as matches move throughout the season.

Round 1
Harlequins v Gloucester United, The Stoop, w/c 3rd September (kick-off, TBC)

Round 2
Harlequins v Bristol United, The Stoop, w/c 10th September, (kick-off, TBC)

Round 3
Bath United v Harlequins, The Rec, w/c 24th September, (kick-off, TBC)

Round 4
Saracens Storm v Harlequins, Allianz Park, w/c 1st October, (kick-off, TBC)

Round 5
Harlequins v Exeter Braves, The Stoop, w/c 17th December, (kick-off, TBC)

Round 6
Bristol United v Harlequins, Ashton Gate Stadium, w/c 24th December, (kick-off, TBC)

Round 7
Harlequins v Bath United, The Stoop, w/c 31st December, (kick-off, TBC)

Round 8
Exeter Braves v Harlequins, Sandy Park, w/c 1st April (kick-off, TBC)

Round 9
Harlequins v Saracens Storm, The Stoop, w/c 8th April (kick-off, TBC)

Round 10
Gloucester United v Harlequins, Kingsholm, w/c 22nd April (kick-off, TBC)

w/c 6th May 2019 (kick-off, TBC)

Monday 13th May 2019 (kick-off, TBC)

Don’t miss out on watching the stars of the future by guaranteeing your seat to all regular season home matches, including all home Premiership Shield fixtures, by purchasing a Harlequins membership. To find out more on purchasing a membership, please click here or call the Harlequins Ticket Office on 020 8410 6010


Harlequins co-captain James Horwill following the 47-33 win over Worcester Warriors

Head of Rugby Paul Gustard following the 47-33 win over Worcester Warriors.

Harlequins fly-half Marcus Smith ahead of our Gallagher Premiership match against Worcester Warriors.